Locks as a Service
Loading...

Smart Campus –
Smart Campus creates a new identity for universities and students

Smart Campus versus traditional learning environment – Digital natives today expect more than a dusty library and a professor writing formulas on the blackboard in the lecture hall, and not just since the coronavirus pandemic. But how do traditional approaches and the latest technologies differ in terms of the learning experience? And what are the advantages of a smart university?

Old world versus new world: How learning and teaching are changing on a Smart Campus

University life is constantly changing. It is not only the introduction of uniform Bachelor’s and Master’s systems that illustrates the generation gap when it comes to studying. In the past – and not so long ago – a typical day for Michael the student looked like this: His professor stands at the front of the lectern and teaches. He and his fellow students learn from used books and hand in their printed seminar papers or projects at the end of the semester.

A Smart Campus or smart university should offer more room for lateral thinking. Digital natives are all about social networking and being mobile. Students want to stay connected – with friends, family, lecturers or other university staff, digital curriculum, live lectures and much more. Thus, the expectations of the university are also changing. Potential first-year students who aspire to this new kind of campus life expect a great and digital university experience that makes learning possible even in exceptional situations.

Definition of a Smart Campus: What exactly constitutes a ‘smart campus’?

What exactly makes a university campus ‘smart’? As with many other smart applications and experiences, it is about communicating and exchanging data with other systems, devices or the internet. A digital campus starts with ubiquitous, reliable and wireless connectivity – indoors and out: a digitally connected university that uses these digital applications in everyday life on campus in a wide variety of situations. The options range, for example, from preventive monitoring to individual room control and intelligent access control.

In a nutshell: A smart campus connects disparate areas such as devices, applications and people to enable new services and improve efficiency and the student experience.

Smart Campus in practice: Digital future is created through digital education

Directions, electronic locks or lockers, mobile check-in in the student flat, automated book lending, intelligent parking, mobile booking of study rooms, ordering food in the cafeteria or checking the availability of fitness equipment via app… all these are examples of smart campus and building applications. Whether you are looking for the room number for the upcoming seminar, the lecturers’ offices or a particular book in the library, something is always changing on the premises. A network of Smart Campus applications gives you an overview, facilitates management, for example, as in a company head office. They show students, teachers and academic staff what is happening around them and guide them to their destination as quickly as possible.

In practice, a digital campus can be divided into three categories:

  1. Smart living
  2. Smart Learning and University
  3. Smart Safety and Security

All areas can help to increase student engagement. This is important to ease their transition into university life and to help them use all the resources they need to succeed. Digital universities bring science to life.

The Smart Campus serves as an interface between Smart Homes and Smart Cities.

A smart university building serves as an interface between Smart Homes and Cities. But what does it mean? Through an intelligently networked everyday university life, digital natives are offered new experiences that they already know and use from their private lives. At the same time, a progressive higher education organisation offers entirely new opportunities to increase operational efficiency, just as in a company, to save costs and to improve public safety. An example of a Smart City – where a smart university campus forms a sub-project – is the Smart City Eichenzell project funded by BMI.

A common technological infrastructure as a driver of innovation?

A future scenario? No, all this can already be reality: when people, devices and applications use a common technological infrastructure, they can interact with each other and enable experiences that were not possible before. For instance, the digital student card is already being considered in many places – making traditional card handling superfluous in favour of mobile applications via smartphone.

Then add Internet of Things (IoT) networks, such as sensors or access technologies, to tie the campus infrastructure into the IP network – and you can throw in lighting, heating, cooling and power systems, as well as security monitoring, physical access systems and parking facilities.

In this way, your educational institution becomes a platform for innovation. Our goal at SAG Smart Access: to jointly create added value for operators and students with intelligent solutions.

Advantages of a smart campus: Better education for all

The benefits are manifold:

  • Designing housing and learning to meet needs: Smart living
  • Creating more flexible learning environments: Smart Learning
  • Modern and digital work processes
  • Higher work efficiency
  • Better balance between passive learning, active research and collaboration
  • Offer the most popular courses to more students
  • Make learning spaces for efficient work – alone or together with fellow students – flexibly bookable
  • Reduce energy consumption
  • Reduce electricity costs
  • Sustainable resource management
  • Economic success
  • Security
  • Better quality of work and life for higher education students and employees
  • Student satisfaction: Digitalisation of the university campus is an important argument when choosing a university
How learning and teaching are changing on a Smart Campus

How to get started: How to build your Smart Campus

In Germany, tuition-free universities have led to enrolment success for international students. Yet this also creates new challenges – such as a lack of revenue to fund research. A network of intelligent buildings could provide a remedy here. It reduces operating costs on campus while providing a platform for innovation and technology for both faculty and students.

  1. New learning models on a Smart Campus

The use of networked computer technology is creating new learning models that fit the lifestyle of digital natives. If every university student has access to audio and video conferencing tools at any time, they can initiate or participate in a collaborative work session in seconds. This also allows several students to work together on the same project without having to be in the same physical location. What’s more, neither the students nor the teachers suffer from the loss of physical presence in exceptional situations.

  1. Digital portals

Digital portals are already widespread, not only in companies. Most universities already use digital learning management systems. This way, students can easily access the portals at any time and from any personal device. Grades, assignments, syllabus, documents – everything is available to students.

  1. Keyless access and access management

SAG Smart Access offers digital access solutions consisting of software and hardware – from stand-alone options to networked systems for doors and lockers and their integration into technology-controlled operating platforms – both on university campuses and for student housing. The goal is efficient organisation and automation of buildings and universities. For example, staff and students on a Smart Campus have secure access to doors, lockers and furniture, as well as the resources protected behind them. Access is possible from anywhere – directly from the smartphone, individual permissions, time-limited and provided in real time.

Our four solution concepts ‘Keyless Access’, ‘intelligent cabinet locking’, ‘Preventive Monitoring’ and ‘Individual Room Control’ are explained in detail on the following pages.

Locks as a Service
Software LockManager 7
Learn more about the new version.
Set up a non-binding appointment with us – we look forward to advising you!

    System requirements

    Clients (user-dependent functions)

    • Windows 10
    • Intel Core i3 (Broadwell as a minimum)
    • or equivalent
    • 4 GB RAM or more
    • > 500MB free disk space
    • Full-HD (4k recommended)
    • Ethernet port (100Mbit minimum) 1 USB port

    Server
    Services: Database Service, Cybernet, Interface Service

    • Windows 10
    • Intel Core i5 (Broadwell as a minimum)
    • or equivalent
    • 8 GB RAM or higher
    • >6 GB free disk space
    • Data backup option
    • Ethernet port 100 Mbit
    Your market

    Smart BuildingsIndustry / AdministrationUniversities / LibrariesHotel / Serviced ApartmentsClinicsTradeOther
    Your contact info






    Please prove you are human by selecting the Cup.

    Let’s talk about
    Your Smart Access Setup!
    Make a video call appointment
    to present our solutions

      Your message

      Your market

      Your contact info






      Please prove you are human by selecting the Flag.

Locks as a Service
Loading...

Smart Campus –
So schaffen Sie eine neue Identität für Universitäten und Studierende

Smart Campus vs. Traditionelle Lernumgebung – Digital Natives erwarten heutzutage mehr als eine verstaubte Bücherei und einen Professor, der im Hörsaal Formeln an die Tafel schreibt. Doch worin liegt der Unterscheid? Und was sind die Vorteile eines Smart Campus?

Alte Welt vs. Neue Welt: Wie sich das Lernen und Lehren auf einem Smart Campus verändert

Das Uni-Leben verändert sich ständig. Nicht nur die Einführung von einheitlichen Bachelor- und Mastersystemen verdeutlicht den Generationenunterschied, wenn es um das Studieren geht. Früher – und das ist noch gar nicht so lange her – sah ein typischer Alltag eines Studenten so aus: Der Professor steht vorne am Pult und lehrt, die Studenten lernen aus benutzten Büchern und reichen am Ende des Semesters ihre ausgedruckten Seminararbeiten ein.


Mehr Raum zum Querdenken soll ein Smart Campus bzw. eine Smart University den Studenten bieten. Den Digital Natives geht es um soziale Netzwerke und darum, mobil zu sein. Die Studenten möchten in Verbindung zu bleiben – mit Freunden, Familie, Professoren, digitalem Lehrplan, Live-Vorlesungen und vielem mehr. So verändern sich auch die Erwartungen an die Universitäten und Hochschulen. Potenzielle Studienanfänger, die diese neue Art von Campusleben anstreben, erwarten eine großartige und digitale Smart Campus-Erfahrung.

Definition Smart Campus: Was genau macht einen „intelligenten Campus“ aus?

Was genau macht einen Campus eigentlich „smart“? Wie auch bei vielen anderen smarten Anwendungen und Erfahrungen geht es darum, mit anderen Systemen, Geräten oder dem Internet zu kommunizieren. Ein Smart Campus beginnt mit einer allgegenwärtigen, zuverlässigen und drahtlosen Konnektivität – drinnen und draußen: eine digital vernetzte Hochschule, die diese smarten Anwendungen im Alltag auf dem Campus in verschiedensten Situationen einsetzt. Die Lösungen reichen zum Beispiel von präventiver Überwachung über individuelle Raumsteuerung bis hin zur smarten Zutrittskontrolle.

Kurz gesagt: Ein Smart Campus verbindet Geräte, Anwendungen und Menschen, um neue Dienstleistungen zu ermöglichen und die Effizienz sowie die Erfahrung der Studenten und Campusmitarbeiter zu verbessern.

Smart Campus in der Praxis: Digitale Zukunft entsteht durch digitale Bildung

Wegbeschreibungen, elektronische Schlösser bzw. Schließfächer, mobiler Check-In im Studentenapartment, automatisiertes Ausleihen von Büchern, intelligentes Parken, mobile Buchung von Lernräumen, Bestellungen für das Essen in der Cafeteria oder die Verfügbarkeit von Fitnessgeräten per App abfragen… all das sind Beispiele für smarte Campus-Anwendungen. Egal, ob Sie die Raumnummer für das bevorstehende Seminar oder ein bestimmtes Buch in der Bibliothek suchen, ständig ändert sich etwas auf dem Campus. Smart Campus-Anwendungen geben Ihnen Überblick. Sie zeigen Studenten, Dozenten und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern, was um sie herum passiert und lotsen sie auf schnellstem Wege ans Ziel.

In der Praxis lässt sich ein Smart Campus in drei Kategorien aufteilen:

  1. Smart Living
  2. Smart Learning und Smart University
  3. Smart Safety und Security

Kategorien können dazu beitragen, das Engagement der Studierenden zu erhöhen. Das ist wichtig, um ihnen den Übergang ins Universitätsleben zu erleichtern und ihnen dabei zu helfen, alle Ressourcen zu nutzen, die sie für ihren Erfolg benötigen.

Der Smart Campus dient als Schnittstelle zwischen Smart Homes und Smart Cities.
Der Smart Campus dient als Schnittstelle zwischen Smart Homes und Smart Cities. Aber was ist damit gemeint? Durch einen intelligent vernetzten Uni-Alltag werden den Digital Natives neue Erfahrungen geboten, die sie von ihrem privaten Leben bereits kennen und nutzen. Gleichzeitig bietet eine fortschrittliche Hochschulorganisation ganz neue Möglichkeiten, um die betriebliche Effizienz zu erhöhen, Kosten einzusparen und die öffentliche Sicherheit zu verbessern.

Eine gemeinsame technologische Infrastruktur als Innovationstreiber?

Ein Zukunftsszenario? Nein, das alles kann schon jetzt Realität sein: Wenn Menschen, Geräte und Anwendungen auf dem Campus eine gemeinsame technologische Infrastruktur nutzen, können sie miteinander interagieren und Erfahrungen ermöglichen, die vorher nicht möglich waren. So ist zum Beispiel der digitale Studierendenausweis vielerorts bereits angedacht, der das traditionelle Karten-Handling zu Gunsten von mobilen Anwendungen per Smartphone überflüssig macht.


Fügen Sie dann noch Internet of Things (IoT)-Netzwerke, wie zum Beispiel Sensoren oder Zugangstechnologien hinzu, um die Infrastruktur des Campus in das IP-Netzwerk einzubinden, können Sie Beleuchtung, Heiz-, Kühlungs- und Energiesysteme, sowie Sicherheitsüberwachung, physische Zugangssysteme und Parkmöglichkeiten ergänzen.


So wird Ihr Campus zu einer Plattform für Innovation. Unser Ziel bei SAG Smart Access: mit intelligenten Lösungen gemeinsam Mehrwerte für Betreiber und Studenten erschaffen.

Vorteile eines Smart Campus: Bessere Bildung für alle

Die Vorteile einer smarten Universität sind vielfältig:

  • Wohnen und Lernen bedarfsgerecht gestalten: Smart Living
  • Flexiblere Lernumgebungen schaffen: Smart Learning
  • Moderne und digitale Arbeitsprozesse
  • Höhere Arbeitseffizienz
  • Bessere Balance zwischen passivem Lernen, aktiver Forschung und Zusammenarbeit
  • Die beliebtesten Kurse für mehr Studierende anbieten
  • Lernräume für effizientes Arbeiten – allein oder gemeinsam mit Kommilitonen – flexibel buchbar machen
  • Senkung des Energieverbrauchs: Smart Campus
  • Senkung der Stromkosten
  • Nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement
  • Wirtschaftlicher Erfolg
  • Sicherheit: Smart Campus
  • Bessere Arbeits- und Lebensqualität für Studierende und Mitarbeiter
  • Studentenzufriedenheit: Die Digitalisierung des Campus ist ein wichtiges Argument bei der Wahl der Universität
Wie sich das Lernen und Lehren auf einem Smart Campus verändert

How to get started: So bauen Sie Ihren Smart Campus auf

In Deutschland hat die Studiengebührenfreiheit an den Universitäten zu einem Einschreibungserfolg für internationale Studenten geführt. Auf der anderen Seite entstehen dadurch aber auch neue Herausforderungen, wie z.B. fehlende Einnahmen zur Finanzierung von Forschung. Ein Smart Campus könnte hier Abhilfe schaffen. Er senkt die Betriebskosten auf dem Campus und bietet gleichzeitig eine Plattform für Innovationen – sowohl für Dozenten als auch für Studierende.

    1. Neue Lernmodelle auf einem Smart Campus

 

Durch den Einsatz vernetzter Computertechnologie entstehen neue Lernmodelle, die zum Lebensstil der Digital Natives passen. Wenn jeder Student jederzeit Zugang zu Audio- und Videokonferenz-Tools hat, kann er in Sekundenschnelle eine kollaborative Arbeitssitzung initiieren oder daran teilnehmen. So können auch mehrere Studenten gemeinsam am selben Projekt arbeiten, ohne sich am selben physischen Ort aufhalten zu müssen.

 

    1. Digitale Portale

 

Digitale Portale sind auch ohne Smart Campus schon weit verbreitet. Die meisten Hochschulen und Universitäten setzen bereits digitale Lernmanagementsysteme ein. So können Studierende jederzeit und von jedem persönlichen Gerät aus problemlos auf die Portale zugreifen. Noten, Aufgaben, Lehrplan, Dokumente – alles steht den Studierenden zur Verfügung.

 

    1. Schlüsselloses Zutritts- und Zugriffsmanagement

 

SAG Smart Access bietet digitale Zutrittslösungen aus Soft- und Hardware – von der Stand-alone-Lösung über vernetzte Systeme für Türen und Schränke bis hin zu deren Einbindung in technologiegesteuerte Betriebsplattformen – sowohl auf dem Campus als auch für das studentische Wohnen. Ziel ist eine effiziente Organisation und Automation von Gebäuden und Universitäten. So haben Mitarbeiter und Studierende auf einem Smart Campus z.B. sicheren Zutritt und Zugriff auf Türen, Schränke und Möbelstücke sowie auf die dahinter geschützten Ressourcen. Der Zugang ist von überall möglich – direkt vom Smartphone aus, individuelle Berechtigungen, zeitbegrenzt und in Echtzeit bereitgestellt.

Unsere vier Lösungskonzepte „Schlüsselloser Zutritt“, „Intelligenter Schrankverschluss“, „Präventive Überwachung“ und „Individuelle Raumsteuerung“ finden Sie auf den folgenden Seiten detailliert erläutert.

Locks as a Service
Sprechen wir über
Ihr Smart Access Setup!
Skype-Termin vereinbaren
zur Vorstellung unserer Lösungen

    Ihre Nachricht

    Ihr Markt

    Smart BuildingsIndustrie / VerwaltungUnis / BibliothekenHotel / Serviced ApartmentsKlinikenHandelSonstiges

    Ihr Kontakt






    Bitte beweisen Sie, dass Sie kein Spambot sind und wählen Sie das Symbol Schlüssel aus.